Best In-Demand Network Security Certifications in 2022

Network Security is the group of policies, practices, and measures to protect sensitive or confidential data within an organization. It will cover practices that prevent hackers or cybercriminals from accessing the data and manipulating or stealing it. Network Security isn’t just a bunch of rules, it consists of hardware devices, security systems, software, user awareness, and other procedures. 

Today, Network Security is essential in preventing cyber-attacks. Organizations are stressing its importance every day. The pandemic has fuelled the need for Network Security with the rise in cyber-attacks and hacking attempts. Pandemic pushed society to increase the usage of digital devices and services. Today we stand at a point of time where everything is stored online. Starting from our birthdays in our social media accounts to our daily activities via social media feeds. Our bills, credit card history, bank account information. All these pieces of information are vulnerable to cyber-attacks. 

On top of that, new technologies like IoT devices increase our exposure to threats. More commitment to digital infrastructure and technologies means offering many touchpoints for hackers to perform security breaches and steal sensitive or confidential data for economic or personal reasons. So before we discuss other details, let’s discuss the major topic of this blog to gain a better understanding. What are the best in-demand Network Security Certifications in 2022? 

You must be skilled in Network Security for you to earn reasonably and bag better opportunities. Enrolling in a good IT Security Course will help you acquire the technical capabilities in the domain and validate your knowledge which will help you in interviews. 

Some of the major certifications that you must acquire to stand out in the crowd of professionals: 

Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH):

Ethical Hackers are professionals who think and work similarly to Hackers and Cybercriminals, with the only difference between them being the intention and ethical part. Ethical Hackers work for organizations and not against them. Organizations and businesses hire these qualified Ethical Hackers to test their security systems, identify bugs, fix issues using the same set of tools used by hackers to conduct security breaches. 

Ethical Hackers are termed “White Hat Hackers.” Hackers are termed as “Black Hat Hackers.” The CEH certification exam is organized by EC-Council. With this certification one can work in the following roles: 

  • Security Analyst
  • Security Specialist
  • Pentester
  • Malware Analyst
  • Security Engineer
  • Security Consultant

It’s a 4-hour long exam containing 125 questions of multiple-choice types. Cracking this exam requires dedicated study and practice. 

CISSP: Certified Information Systems Security Professional

This certification is offered by (ISC)2 and is a globally recognized certification to validate Cyber security skills in a professional. Earning CISSP certification means that you have the necessary skills in designing, implementing, and managing the best Cybersecurity programs. Acquiring certifications like these will help you access a variety of resources, tools, and the opportunity to connect, interact and network with professionals. 

CISSP certification is ideal for experienced professionals in the field of the security domain. These professionals could be managers, executives, CISO (Chief Information Security Officer), IT Director, Security Consultant, etc. This certification helps in providing expertise in a wide range of security principles, etc. Learn Cyber Security and chart your course to master the domain. 

CISM: Certified Information Security Manager

It’s an advanced certification that validates an individual’s knowledge and expertise in developing and managing an enterprise-grade information security program. A nonprofit, independent association that goes by the name ISACA offers this certification. This association advocates for professionals working in assurance, infosec, risk management, and governance. 

Professionals like IT Managers, IT Consultants, Infosec Managers, and many more will prepare for this certification. To acquire this certification, the aspirant needs to score 450 or above in an exam having a 200-800 scale scoring method in an exam of 150 multiple-choice questions. Earning this certification validates your expertise in four security domains: 

  • Information Risk Management
  • Information Security Incident Management
  • Information Security Governance 
  • Information Security Program Development and Management

Apart from passing this certification, you also need to possess at least five years of cumulative paid working experience in domains as outlined in the CBK (Common Body of Knowledge). 

CCSP: Certified Cloud Security Professional

This certification has surely become one of the most sought-after ways to make a career in building security programs and protecting the cloud’s critical aspects. This certification helps to validate advanced technical skills and knowledge in designing, managing and securing infrastructure, applications, and data in the cloud. This certification validates your expertise in applying the industry-best practices. 

This certification is meant for Information Security and IT professionals who could best apply best practices to cloud security architecture, design, service orchestration, and operations. This certification validates your expertise in the following six domains: 

  • Cloud Concepts, Design, and Architecture
  • Cloud Platform and Infrastructure Security
  • Cloud Data Security
  • Cloud Security Operations
  • Legal, Risk, and Compliance
  • Cloud Application Security

CISA: Certified Information Systems Auditor

As the full-form suggests, CISA is for those professionals who wish to prove and validate their expertise in Infosec and IT auditing, security, control, etc. This certification is offered by ISACA, a nonprofit, independent association. It’s enough for leverage in advancing your career. 

Once you acquire CISA certification, you can prove your experience in domains like Governance and IT Management, Information Systems Auditing Process, Information Systems Operations, and Business Resilience, Information Systems Acquisition, Development and Implementation, Protection of Information Assets. According to ISACA, with CISA certification, 22% of professionals got salary hikes or pay boosts, and 70% of professionals improved in their job performance.  

CompTIA+ Security+

It is a basic-level certification within the IT security domain that will help validate fundamental skills that are necessary for performing core security functions and pursuing a career in the IT sector. This certification helps in incorporating best practices via acquiring hands-on troubleshooting, and the expertise in: 

  • Assessing the security posture of an enterprise environment, aptly recommend security solutions and implement them.  
  • Monitor and secure hybrid and mobile environments
  • Operating with the awareness of the best applicable laws and policies
  • Identifying, analyzing, and responding to security events and incidents