System Administrator Certifications To Consider

A system administrator is an IT professional responsible for installing, maintaining, and operating an organization’s computer network and systems. They are sometimes also referred to as server administrators. These professionals work directly with an organization’s hardware and software to ensure that all equipment functions reliably and efficiently.

Why are system administration certificates essential?

System administration certifications are essential to confirm candidates’ relevant IT skills and knowledge. There are many sysadmin certifications, and choosing something reliable can sometimes be challenging. A lot of resources offer complete reviews of certificates. The system administrator can read the Linux Foundation training review and weigh the pros and cons. System admin certifications can also show that they have up-to-date skills in line with industry standards, increasing their credibility as candidates.

Competitive advantage

Candidates who earn certifications related to their field can set themselves apart from their peers. For example, having credentials can show that they have more advanced skills and are committed to professional development and expanding their skill set and knowledge in the IT field.

Earning potential

Certification can help candidates increase their earning potential by showing they have cutting-edge or state-of-the-art IT skills and knowledge. As they gain advanced skills or further upgrade their certificates, they may find an opportunity to move into a higher position or receive a promotion or pay raise at work.

Additional experience or knowledge

Certificates can prove their skills and knowledge to candidates with less professional experience or education. We live in a time when the world is developing rapidly, and every day there are more and more new technologies. Therefore, every person understands the importance of software and certificates. To understand the software, you could check here and see how essential self-development in this field is. Certification often means that a person has completed training and passed exams related to specific system administration skills, demonstrating that they can fulfil the position’s duties even if their professional and academic background is not entirely up to it.

Red Hat Certified System Administrator

The Red Hat Certified System Administrator certification is designed for experienced Red Hat Enterprise Linux system administrators to demonstrate their proficiency. It is also a prerequisite for individuals who wish to become Red Hat Certified Engineers. This certification verifies that individuals can install, configure, deploy, and run maintenance of Linux systems and firewalls. Examples of skills supported by this certification include:

  • Proficiency in using tools for working with files, directories, command-line environments, and documentation;
  • Ability to create simple shell scripts;
  • Managing users, groups, and containers;
  • Using partitions and logical volumes to set up local storage;
  • Creation of file systems and related attributes, including permissions and encryption.

Red Hat Certified Engineer

The Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) certification is for senior Linux or UNIX system administrators. It helps validate an individual’s advanced knowledge and skills related to Red Hat system administration and systems management in DevOps environments. Automation is an essential component of these environments, and The RHCE certification requires candidates to know how to automate the deployment, management, and maintenance of multi-system environments. Examples of the skills that this certification validates include:

  • Managing and configuring system logs;
  • Understanding the Internet Small Computer System Interface (iSCSI) Initiator;
  • Network services such as HTTP/HTTPS, SMB, SMTP, SSH, and FTP;
  • Ability to use shell scripts to automate routine maintenance activities;
  • Knowledge of how Ansible Automation interacts with Red Hat technologies.

To obtain this certification, you must pass a four-hour exam, choose an individual or classroom option, and pay $400. As mentioned, getting the RHCSA certification is one of the prerequisites for taking the RHCE exam. Candidates may also need professional experience as a system administrator in Red Hat Enterprise Linux or by taking the following courses:

  • Red Hat System Administration I (RH124);
  • Red Hat System Administration II (RH134);
  • RHCSA Rapid Track Course (RH199);
  • Red Hat System Administration III: Linux Automation with Ansible (RH294).

CompTIA Server+

The CompTIA Server+ certification is vendor-agnostic and is intended for administrator-level professionals who install, manage, and troubleshoot servers. This exam covers skills and knowledge related to hardware and software in on-premise and hybrid server environments, such as scripting and cloud computing. Examples of skills supported by this certification include:

  • Installation and maintenance of physical server hardware and storage systems;
  • Server management and maintenance, including operating system configuration and virtualization;
  • Application of physical and network data protection methods;
  • Understanding disaster recovery and backup methods;
  • Troubleshooting system hardware, software, connectivity, storage, and security issues.

Sysadmin certifications require the completion of a 90-minute multiple-choice exam. The organization recommends obtaining an A+ certification and having 18-24 months of IT or professional experience in server environments. Candidates may take exams at the testing or online and must pay the examination fee.

Linux Professional Institute LPIC-1 Linux Administrator

The Linux Professional Institute offers several certification options for system administrators, starting with the LPIC-1 Linux Administrator. This certification certifies that professionals can install, configure, and maintain Linux systems. Examples of the skills that this certification validates include:

  • Fundamental maintenance tasks include backup and restore reboot and shutdown;
  • Understanding Linux, UNIX, and GNU commands;
  • Managing files and access permissions;
  • Knowledge of Linux system architecture;
  • Fundamentals of networking and security.

LPIC-1 certification has no prerequisites. Applicants must pay a fee and take Exams 101 and 102, which are 90 minutes long and contain 60 multiple-choice questions with gap filling. LPI certifications are progressive levels of certification. Such certificates will be an excellent plus to the resume. It is also essential to be able to format a resume properly. To do this, you could check that and learn how to describe yourself adequately in a resume. For example, the LPIC-1 exam is a prerequisite for the LPIC-2 Linux Engineer exam, and the LPIC-2 exam is a prerequisite for the LPIC-3 Mixed Environments, Security and Virtualization, and High Availability exams.


If you are a system administrator or aspiring to that role, you may find it helpful to obtain sys admin certs. Some employers require or prefer specific certifications because they show you have the skills and knowledge needed to perform typical tasks for the position. Understanding the benefits of earning certifications and which ones to look for will help you make the right choice. In this article, we’ll discuss the role of a system administrator and examine nine examples of the certifications you need to earn for this profession.